Psalm 133

  • Read Psalm 133 here.
  • If you missed last Sunday’s sermon (July 6) you can listen to it here.

.

When you read the the first verse of Psalm 133 do you first think family, local congregation, or broader church? Leave a comment and share your thoughts.

In the sermon, I mentioned that I make a point that if the radio is playing on the way to church, it’s only tuned to a station that plays Christian music.  I don’t want to get caught up in sport or politics on my way to worship God.  I want to remind myself of what God’s done and doing in my life and Christian music helps me do that.  Do you have a “Song of Ascents” or a tradition for preparing for worship with the church? Add a comment and share what you do.

In his book Christian Community: Life Together, Dietrich Bonhoeffer wrote regarding unity and singing, “It is the voice of the Church that is heard in singing together. It is not you that sings, it is the Church that is singing, and you, as a member of the Church, may share in its song.” Do you agree?

Songs from the Psalm
It’s tough to find songs from a psalm that’s only 3 verses long, but here’s some with a similar theme.

  • How Sweet, How Heav’nly Is the Sight,
  • While We Meet in Sweet Communion
  • Behold, What Manner of Love
  • Bind Us Together
  • The Greatest Command
  • Blest Be the Tie
  • My Brethren, Let Us Be As One
  • Love, love, love, love … the gospel in a word is love
  • In Christ There is No East or West
  • Where Charity and Love Prevail (never sung in my hearing, but a great set of lyrics)
  • O Brother Man (another great set of lyrics, but written in 1848 and sounding every year of it)

I knew 5 of these 11, and could sing a couple more when I looked them up. How about you? What other songs do you suggest? Any modern ones?

3 comments

  1. David Wagner

    Psalm 133:1 references the “unity of brothers.” The Old Testament context leads me to think that David was referring to the tribes of Israel, or to the members of his household. In the New Testament, Jesus often refers to “brothers” in the context of Christian brothers. Any of these meanings would fit the verse though.

    My “Song of Ascents” is reflecting upon some past scripture that I’ve read. I’m often then reminded of other scripture or Biblical stories, until I arrive back at the original scripture that I was thinking about. This helps me to focus on worship.

  2. Brian Casey

    Having read a fair amount in the past on Christian unity (Shelly, Garrett, Campbell, Stone, Hawley, Hook, Ketcherside, and others) I tend to think first of unity in Jesus’ universal church. I suppose the Psalmist, also, would have had a relatively broad view of the Israelites’ unity.

    I grew up with Sunday morning moratoriums on practicing the piano, horn, etc., in favor of hymns on the stereo. Sometimes we still do that — sometimes at home, and sometimes on the drive in. This past Sunday, it was Michael Card on the stereo at home. I definitely think it’s good to prepare one’s mind and heart for the assembly, and I should be more consistent myself.

  3. Mark Wagner

    Concerning Bonhoeffer’s statement:
    I think there is truth in what he is saying about collective singing/worship. Singing along with a group certainly can inspire us to put forth our best efforts as compared to singing singly in the shower (and in most cases the group song will sound much better as well!).
    However, there is also an individual aspect. I think God looks at each of our hearts individually in worship, just like he focuses on the one lost sheep out of 100.

Leave a Reply

