2 Peter 1:3-4 – I’m a believer!

  • Read 2 Peter 1:3-4 here.
  • If you missed Sunday’s sermon (10 August) you can listen to it here.

.

This week we start a new (short) series on the topic of “Believing God”. There’s a difference between believing in [the existence of] God, and believing God when He speaks to us.

This week’s text refers to God’s “very great and precious promises”. What comes to your mind when you hear these words? Do you have special “great and precious promises” from God that have helped you through difficult times, or that just motivate you to keep living for God? Click on “comments” below to share your “precious promises”.

Scripture & Songs

Not so many this week as I’m working on my own, so please make some suggestions, but some obvious ones include:

  • Standing on the Promises
  • ‘Tis so Sweet to Trust in Jesus (Just to take Him at His word…)
  • Be Still and Know (SFP – these words are a promise from Ps. 46)
  • For Those Tears I Died (SFP)
  • Seek Ye First
  • To God be the Glory
  • My Hope is Built on Nothing Less
  • Blessed Assurance
  • Firm Foundation (SFP)
  • The Battle Belongs to the Lord (SFP)
10 comments

  1. ozziepete

    Thanks for dropping by and sharing your experience of God with others. To keep the same theme going in the different comments, share your “precious promises” by starting with,

    “I believe God when He says….”

  2. steveschulz

    Hi. It took about 20 minutes of playing around, but I made it in here.

    Your lesson this morning was wonderfully conceived and, hopefully, provoked as much thought from the rest of the congregation as it did me. Do I have a belief of God, or am I a believer in and of God? The first part, as stated, is relatively easy for all members of not only our church, but of all those that attend regularly. I mean what’s the point of “going to church” if you have no belief in God?

    The second part requires some thought and self searching. God has pretty much forced to believe He has a plan for me. There can be no other explanation for where I’ve come since 1991 (before I even “knew” Him) and today, a servant (elder!!) of his body. I believe God has a plan for everyone, but each person has to take the step and exercise the gift of choice that has been given to them. We choose to first, believe in God, and then to believe his promises.

    “I believe God when he says”
    “In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”
    John 14: 2-3

    I’m still working on what He has in store for me in this world, but I know that He has a spot for me with Him in the next.

  3. JACK HILL

    I have ben looking for ten years for the right thing to use to do evangelism and it was in front of me all the time God whant me to use a commuinty of faith that the church put out in the spring of 2006. How i cam to this conution is that I was taking a shower on augest 7, 2008 and I feat the holy sprit cam down teal me that God whant me to use a commuinty of faith. so that afternoon I went to the church and got the a community of faith and wint back home, copyed the frist two parts of it for my lesson. So that is way I BELIVE in GOD when he says go and use a commuity of faith for your lesson. now I have now a inter peace with GOD. So i now how to do evangelism for GOD, JESUS, and THE HOLY SPRIT.

  4. Jo H

    I believe in God when he says…”For I know the plans I have for you,…plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you…..Jer.29:11-(14)

  5. B. Lorenzo

    I believe God when he says “ask and it will be given to you, seek and you will find, knock and it will be opened to you Luke 11:9.”
    In December 2006 I lost my best-friend, my sister Shirley. There was nothing we couldn’t talk about. I can’t remember her ever turning down a request from me. When I received the news she had passed it was very hard to grasp. Yet, I know she wasn’t coming back. Grief was nothing new to me. I had lost my mother, sister and 2 brothers. Yet it seems that everything has stopped. Then I remembered a lesson I once taught “Waiting in God’s waiting room.” There are three types of waiting, physical (all kinds of sickness) emotional (those who are grieving over loss of job, or loss of a loved one) and there’s spiritual (struggle for growth in the Lord). I felt all three, yet I prayed, studied God’s word and I looked for opportunity to serve. I was hurting but I knew I needed to keep on moving to get over the pain. I once read “Grief is a journey and we must complete that journey if we are to be healed. It is not a straight path, there are peaks and valleys. One day we feel strong and the next we dissolve in tears.” I prayed for peace of mind and strength. Now I know God helps those who ask and seek him

  6. Ron Lorenzo

    I believe God when He said, “Eye has not seen, ear has not heard, nor has it entered into the heart of man the things God has prepared for those who love Him.” I Cor. 2:9 and Isaiah 64:4
    Not a day goes by that I do not see God present in my life. THe conversations with my wife, family, or fellow Christians are often uplifting, guiding, and caring. These words are just pleasant to the soul. It is good to be loved. In the work place when situations are difficult He sends a message that lets me know He is thinking about me. I often stop what I am doing and thank Him for thinking of me. Even my memories of years past remind me of how God’s always watching and waiting to answer our call. I love talking with Him.

  7. Carol Schulz

    When I was a young girl going to the Catholic Church, down the street, I was always told that Jesus was coming back on a big cloud. Well…one day as I was walking home from school (next door to that church), I saw the most gigantic white, high puffy cloud in the sky at the end of my street. Since there was no others around I ran in to tell my mom that Jesus was for sure coming today because I just saw the cloud that he was going to use!! He didn’t end up coming that day, believe me I checked more than a few times!
    But I do believe that He is coming. Jesus even tells us himself in Matt 24: 30-31 “… They will see the Son of Man coming on the clouds of the sky, with power and great glory. And he will send his angels with a loud trumpet call, and they will gather his elect from the four winds, from one end of the heavens to the other.” Whether I am still alive here or if I’ve passed on, I know that I will be in that parade!!! It will be awesome and I can’t wait to see Him in all his glory!!!

  8. bonnielee

    Just over a year ago, there was a terrible feud in my family with my father at the head of it all. Then my Mom & Dad decided to move away from the family. I cried and struggled for months. I felt as though I had lost my parents as I missed my Mom horribly. I struggled along as I was seeking the ability to overcome my heartbreak of losing them to the move as well as mydisappointment and anger toward my Dad.
    I needed to make peace in my heart and well as with him. I began attending Lawson Road COC and there is where I found my faith in God and the ability to cope with my family situation. I was baptised and accepted Jesus Christ as my lord and savior last July.
    With my newfound faith in God, and the fellowship of the Church, I have found my direction and discovered God’s grace to forgive my father. I have since re-established my relationship with him.
    Without believing God, I would not be where I am today. I am thankful for everyday that he has given and guided me through. Our God, is truly an AWESOME GOD!!

    Let love and faithfulness never leave you; bind them around your neck,
    write them on the tablet of your heart.
    Then you will win favor and a good name in the sight of God and man
    Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;
    in all your ways acknowledge him,
    and he will make your paths straight.
    Proverbs 3:5-6

  9. Cynthia H

    I believe God when He said in Genesis 50:21 “I will provide for you and your little ones.” I had to walk away from a life that was not in accordance with the life God wanted for me and my children. I stepped out on faith and God did the rest. I prayed that God would not hold back on his promise…praise God for He has remained constant in our lives for the past seven years. He has met our spiritual and physical needs. I thank God for rescuing me from my past life, the Son for securing my new life and the Holy Spirit for maintaining it.

  10. Mark Wagner

    When I begin to doubt God (sometimes even doubting whether he exists), I keep in mind Isaiah 55:8-9 and Jeremiah 10:23. These scriptures help me understand that my puny mind is only capable of limited understanding.

    “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways,”
    declares the Lord.
    “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.
    Isaiah 55:8-9

    I know, O Lord, that a man’s life is not his own;
    it is not for man to direct his steps.
    Jeremiah 10:23

Leave a Reply

