2 Peter 1:3-4 – God can

  • Read 2 Peter 1:3-4 here.
  • If you missed Sunday’s sermon (17 August) you can listen to it here .

.

Thanks to everyone who contributed to last week’s conversation. We had a record number of people participate, as well as record number of readers. If you haven’t already, it’s still not too late to share your “precious promises”.

This week’s text tells us that God gives us everything we need for life and godliness, “through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” The sermon concentrated on the promise of “everything we need”, but we could have also addressed how we get “knowledge about Jesus.” How do you get knowledge about Jesus? Is it just a matter of memorising the Gospels?

The verse also says that Jesus called us by his “glory and goodness”. I think it’s wonderful to know that Jesus called me. It wasn’t an accident that I stumbled upon the Gospel, Jesus called me. But what does the description “by his glory and goodness” mean to you? How does it match your experience of being called by Christ?

FINALLY, in the sermon I quoted Karl Barth (but I don’t have a reference, I just copied someone else) as saying, “The promises of God are surrounded by things that contradict them.Does this statement prompt any thoughts for you?

Scripture & Songs

I’m trying to think of songs that concern the theme of trusting God’s promises to provide all I need for life and godliness. Please add your suggestions by making a comment.

  • He is Able (SFP)
  • God Will Make a Way (SFP – originally performed by Don Moen in 1990 on the album Eternal God)
  • Be Not Dismayed Whate’er Betide
  • He Leadeth Me
  • O How Kindly Hast Thou Lead Me
  • Jesus, Hold My Hand (SOC)
  • Faith is the Victory
  • He Knows Just What I Need (SOC)
  • Does Jesus Care?
  • It is No Secret (What God can Do – SFP) (Performers have included Elvis, Johnny Cash, & Jim Reeves)
3 comments

  1. Jo H

    I’m not great at memorizing scriptures, but I still find knowledge of Jesus through the reading of scripture. I think even more knowledge comes from trying to live what you know. When I am trying to learn something new w/ quilting or woodworking, I can read how to do it in a book, but I don’t REALLY understand until I actually try to do that something…and with that comes some trial and error.
    (I’m glad I was called by “his glory and goodness” rather than his wrath).

    I think we can see Gods promises contradicted if/when we let Satan plant doubt in our hearts.

  2. ozziepete

    My knowledge of Jesus comes first of all from the Bible. There are four gospels for a reason. But I think that “knowing ABOUT Jesus” is different to “knowing Jesus”. One way I feel that I get to know Jesus is by getting to know Christians.

    Eph. 1:22-23 says that Jesus is the “head over everything for the church, which is his body.” So when I see the church (Christians) I see the body of Jesus. This can also be a bit scary because it places a great responsibility on me to do a good job as my part of Jesus’ body.

  3. jack hill

    I believe GOD becouse this mouth i have been doing what he wnted me to do that is to redo my evangelism to lawson road church’s a community of faith and it is done now. I have made a commitment and promise to do what he wants me to do as a christian starting on /09/02/08/. but i put one more thing in it, that is deloping interest in a bible study in it so i can get sinner in to a bible study to save them for GOD. this work is what GOD has cloud me to do for him. it is my spiritual gift from GOD by the way of the holy sprit. becouse win jesus called four fishingermen as disciples he said to them ” Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men” (matthew 4:19) so he is calling me to be a fisher of men too. so that is wy i believe in GOD, jesus, holy spirit in heaven.

Leave a Reply

