2 Peter 1:3-4 – Saved FOR, not FROM

  • Read 2 Peter 1:3-4 here.  Also read 2 Corinthians 5:17-21 here.
  • If you missed Sunday’s sermon (31 August) you can listen to it here.

.

In the sermon I suggested that it’s more appropriate to think of God as a “Divine Doing” rather than as a “Divine Being”.  Does this make any sense to you?  How is the distinction helpful, if at all?

Just as God saved Israel FROM Egypt, FOR the Promised Land, I believe that God concerns himself more with what he’s saving us FOR, that with what he’s saving us FROM.  On a big picture level, God is more interested in saving us for eternity with Him, than in saving us from Hell.  On a more personal level we’ve also been saved for a purpose in this life.  The story doesn’t end just with being rescued from something, the question is what comes next.  Do you feel that you know what God’s saved you FOR?

2 Corinthians 5:20 tells us that God has made us his ambassadors.  Specifically, we’re his ambassadors of reconciliation.  What responsibilities do you personally have as God’s ambassador of reconciliation?  Does the word “reconciliation” mean anything special to you?

Scripture & Songs

I’m trying to think of songs that convey the idea of being saved from the dumpster – not a common theme, at least in those words.  I think I’ll also throw in a few about being God’s representative, ambassador, or body here on earth.  If you have some suggestions please add them to the ‘comments’ below.

  • Love Lifted Me (SOC, SFP, GSII)
  • In Loving-Kindness Jesus Came
  • Master the Tempest is Raging (SOC, SFP, GSII)
  • Wonderful Grace of Jesus (SFP – the verses particularly match this theme)
  • Consecration Medley (SFP – these songs all express a desire to imitate God)
  • – Make Me New
  • – Change My Heart, O God
  • – Heart of a Servant
  • – Servant Song
  • Hands and Feet (released by Audio Adrenaline in 1999 on their album Underdog)
  • If We are the Body (released by Casting Crowns in 2003 on their album Casting Crowns)
  • You’re the Only Jesus (sung by David Will of the Imperials on the 1983 album Side By Side)
  • Years I Spent in Vanity and Pride
  • O the Bitter Pain and Sorrow (GSII, SFP, PFtL)
  • My Sins, My Sins, My Savior (GSII, PFtL)
One comment

  1. Brian Casey

    On the “Being” and “Doing” aspects of God, I guess I’d prefer to think of them as both/and instead of either/or. Seems to me that God’s identifying of Himself as I AM (or something like that … I doubt we have a good translation of that Hebrew) is significant and even primary. But then, He certainly establishes Himself as an active God, too…. Just thinking out loud.

    Songs about those delivered from dumpsters, so to speak:
    In Loving-Kindness Jesus Came (GSR)
    Years I Spent in Vanity and Pride
    O the Bitter Pain and Sorrow (GSII, SFP, PFtL)
    My Sins, My Sins, My Savior (GSII, PFtL)

Leave a Reply

