Philippians Sermon Series

Let me begin by apologising for falling behind with my blog posts.  Let me follow up by giving my excuses: 1. I’ve been preoccupied with other important commitments (studying Greek; parents-in-law visiting; Thanksgiving Dinner; studying Greek…); 2. My sermon series has been interrupted by a prayer service and a sermon by one of the elders; and 3. Since someone “borrowed” our A/V equipment I don’t have any recorded sermons; and 4. I’m often not as organised as I’d like to be.

In Philippians 3:4-6 Paul gives a list of things he could boast in if he chose to.  But he chooses not to because they’re not very impressive accomplishments compared to what Christ has accomplished for him.  1 Cor. 11:16-12:12 contains a very similar, but more detailed, passage as Paul defends his apostleship.  However, before he begins his list, he says in v17 “In this self-confident boasting I am not talking as the Lord would, but as a fool.”  What are some accomplishments or blessings that you find yourself tempted to think more highly of than is healthy?

One that comes to mind for me is our attitude toward mission efforts in other countries.  I find it easy to think of local workers in foreign countries as less than equals, as though I know what’s best for them even though I’ve never even been to their country.

Leave a Reply

