Divine Appointments

This week we celebrated our first “VISION SUNDAY” where we looked at God’s work within the church in 2008 and anticipated opportunities He’s giving us in 2009.glasses-bible-01

We often find it easier to detect God’s involvement in retrospect than we do his guidance in advance.  One speaker I have heard describes opportunities to share God’s love and Gospel as “divine appointments”.    The opportunity to carry an elderly lady’s groceries to the car, or to listen to your doctor’s receptionist gripe, are not just chance happenings, but situations that God has chosen to place us in.  Philip’s miraculous transportation in Acts 8 demonstrates an extreme instance of “divine appointment”.

I’m not sure that I agree with this level of daily intervention on God’s part, (Does he really engineer 3 people (and only 3) to arrive at the bank before me so that I get that particular teller?) but I do think the mindset is important.  Is there a particular word of encouragement that God want’s me to say this this bank teller today, whichever one I get?  Since I’ve been assigned to work with this colleague today, can God use this as an opportunity to invite this person to my Growth Group?  What’s God been doing in this person’s life that he can use me to add to?  I believe that a good congregational example of this is our decision to start a Financial Counselling Ministry through Crown Financial Ministries 6 months before the nation’s economic situation became really dire.  Was this just coincidence, or was the Holy Spirit prompting us because God wanted to use us?

One verse that comes to mind in this discussion is Lawson Road’s theme for this year, 1 Corinthians 3:16 where the Apostle Paul refers to himself as God’s “coworker”.   If God never stops working, should we?

Have you ever been on the receiving end of a divine appointment, where someone you wouldn’t expect was able to give you just the right word of encouragement or advice at just the right time?  Has God ever used you to bless someone in this way?

How can we train ourselves to better see God’s opportunities?

One comment

  1. Julie H

    To answer the questions,

    Yes, and Yes.

    I believe we train ourselves to see God’s opportunities by building and maintaining a closer relationship w/ God so we can see each other and the world w/ his eyes. Our relationship w/ God will change my heart, life and actions to be more like God.

    He expects us to act on what we see in accordance w/ his values. This is what Jesus did when he was on the earth.

    This song really challenges me. I hope it encourages you:

    Give Me Your Eyes

    Looked down from a broken sky
    Traced out by the city lights
    My world from a mile high
    Best seat in the house tonight
    Touched down on the cold black top
    Hold on for the sudden stop
    Breath in the familiar shock
    Of confusion and chaos
    All those people going somewhere,
    Why have I never cared?

    Chorus:
    Give me your eyes for just one second
    Give me your eyes so I can see
    Everything that I keep missing
    Give me your love for humanity
    Give me your arms for the broken hearted
    Ones that are far beyond my reach.
    Give me your heart for the ones forgotten
    Give me your eyes so I can see
    Yeah
    Yeah

    Step out on a busy street
    See a girl and our eyes meet
    Does her best to smile at me
    To hide what’s underneath
    There’s a man just to her right
    Black suit and a bright red tie
    Too ashamed to tell his wife
    He’s out of work
    He’s buying time
    All those people going somewhere
    Why have I never cared?

    Chorus

    I’ve Been there a million times
    A couple of million eyes
    Just moving past me by
    I swear I never thought that I was wrong
    Well I want a second glance
    So give me a second chance
    To see the way you see the people all along

    sung by Brandon Heath

Leave a Reply

