Exodus 3: Introducing God

  • Read Exodus 3 here.
  • If you missed my last couple of sermons from Exodus 3 (30 August & 6 Sept.) you can listen to them here and here.

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been hanging out in Exodus 3.  In this passage God reveals himself to Moses and also  gives Moses a mission that would consume the rest of his life.  Both of these points are important.  God’s promise in 3:12 that He will always be with Moses, only contains meaning when one understands who God is.  (A non-burning, burning bush is a good way to convince someone that being on the same side is a good thing.)

I think many people today encounter the same issues.  Lots of people believe in the existence of God.  Many people want a relationship with God.  But how many people really know God?  Through requiring Moses to remove his sandals, God begins by emphasising His holiness to Moses.  How many people would start with holiness when describing God?

I would usually start describing God as Creator, emphasising His power and majesty.  I would probably then move on to describing His patience with Israel and His love and grace revealed in the incarnation and crucifixion of Jesus.  If I wasn’t studying Exodus 3, I’m not sure when I would mention holiness as a vital character trait of God.

In my second sermon I compared the pattern found in Ex 3:7-12 of commission accompanied by reassurance of God’s presence, with Jesus final words in Matt. 28:18-20 which also contain commission and reassurance of Jesus/God’s ongoing presence.  However, this comparison makes me wonder how people compare the first part of the story.

The whole Gospel of Matthew reveals the identity of Jesus, so when he says “surely I am with you”, what does that mean to you?  What reassurance does Jesus’ promise provide as we carry out our mission to make disciples?  Which part of Jesus’ personality or aspect of his ministry makes his presence most comforting?

On a lighter note, it also reminds me of this scene from the movie Talladega Nights which I think has an important message about how we think of Jesus.

(I’m not recommending this movie as it’s certainly not rated PG, but this scene has been cleaned up and has a good message.)

Leave a Reply

