Lord, Open Our Eyes

  • Read 2 Kings 6:8-23 here.
  • You can listen to this sermon here.

In the above passage the king of Aram sends a large band of soldiers, horses and chariots to capture the prophet Elisha.  Elisha’s servant notices the surrounding army first and cries out in fear.  In response to the servant’s fear Elisha prays in v17, “Open his eyes, Lord, so that he may see.”  God opens his eyes, and the servant sees the hillsides covered with”horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha.”  He had no reason to fear.

I challenged the church this week to daily pray the prayer, “Lord, Open my eyes so that I may see.”  I have a simple blog post this week.  If God answered this prayer for you, what might you see?

  • I might see myself as God sees me.
  • I might see others the way God view them.
  • I might see more people for who they can become, rather than for who they are right now.
  • I might see more of God’s presence and activity in my life.
  • I might see chariots of fire all around me.
  • I might see forces of darkness around me.
  • I might notice more people who need to experience God’s love today.
  • I might better understand God’s will for my life… and for my family.
  • I might confess my sins more readily.
  • I might see opportunities to speak for God that I currently overlook.
  • I might see eternity with God more clearly.
  • I might see the barriers that prevent me growing closer to Christ.

That’s certainly not an exhaustive list.  What might you see?

Leave a Reply

