My Aussie Food List

Beautiful Bikkies (Cookies in US English)

I thought I’d post something a little different this time.

I’m nearing the end of my month back in Australia and a big part of a trip like this involves sampling all the food I can’t get in the US. So here’s my wish list and the progress I’m making. If my Aussie friends feel I’ve missed something uniquely (and deliciously) Australian, then please leave a comment and remind me before I leave the country next week!! (Some items on the list weren’t there before I came, but are just food I’ve eaten since I’ve been here.)

 

 

So many slices!!!

So many slices!!!

BAKERY ITEMS

  • Meat Pie
  • Egg & Bacon Pie
  • Sausage Roll
  • Pastie
  • Cherry Ripe slice
  • Apple slice
  • Vanilla slice
  • French Vanilla slice
  • Lamington
  • Scones – topped with rasberry jam & whipped cream, of course.

    WP_001216

    Fish and Chips

DRINKS

  • Long Black coffee
  • Australian Latte
  • Schweppes Solo
  • Apple Isle cider

MEALS

  • Lamb Roast
  • Sausages (snags, not German)  🙂
  • Fish and Chips
  • Barbie – Aussie style sausages, bbq’d pineapple, beetroot
  • “Real” Chinese (“Hello” Box Hill)
  • Weet-Bix
  • Nutragrain
  • Lots of Aussie muesli
  • Crumpets – for brekky – spread with honey

DESSERTS

  • Pavlova

    Blueberry Pavlova!!!!

  • Mum’s Cheesecake
  • Mum’s Ice Cream Cake
  • Stewed apple with real cream

OTHER

  • Cherry Ripe
  • Macadamia Nut Ice Cream

COFFEE & CAFES

During this trip I’ve really come to appreciate why Australia is often described as having a “cafe culture”.  I guess the throngs of Italian migrants to Australia in the wake of WWII are to thank for the numerous cafe’s serving espresso found all around our major cities and small towns.

We spent about ten days near Blackburn in Melbourne’s eastern suburbs and the little neighbourhood shopping strip with 10 shops had 2 places I could sit down and enjoy a coffee. Only one of them had umbrellas and tables outside.

Then we stayed almost three weeks in Ulverstone, Tasmania. The small town is exploding with bakeries and cafes! There must be almost a dozen businesses where I could purchase a cup of espresso. The footpaths down the main street in town are wide enough to accommodate tables for two outside many of these cafes. The main intersection in the business district has a bank on one corner, a pub on the other, then a bakery and a cafe on the last two corners.

Just as important are the baked goods that accompany the coffee. So sometimes bakeries sell coffee and other times coffee shops offer pastries. It’s a wonderful mix that makes choosing a favourite an extremely subjective decision. Should I base my favouritism on the coffee or the pastries?

Devonshire Tea

Then of course there are those special places that offer Devonshire Tea. As a kid I never appreciated how unique it was to have signs all over the countryside advertising “Devonshire Tea” and “Cappuccino”. These tea houses dotting the countryside established a base line of normal for me. Scones, jam & cream were likewise a staple at every church lunch. I love the scorecard on the link above. No Devonshire Tea is complete with a special type of ambience. For example check out the convict tea house, the flowering tea room, or coastal tea gardens.

Having seen these signs for “Cappuccino” so frequently as a child, I was surprised when I discovered that espresso was almost unheard of in the United States before Starbucks made it popular. Although I suspect that it was popular among particular migrant communities. On the other hand, it was only on this trip back to Australia that I realised I couldn’t buy brewed coffee anywhere. Again, I’m sure there are some specialty cafes that offer it, but I didn’t find them.

That’ll do. I’m feeling hungry now!! Each of the pics links to a local Tassie site. Otherwise, if you’re wondering what these delicacies are, you’ll have to try Google.  Thanks!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

